The artist

Léon Joseph Florentin Bonnat was born in Bayonne in 1833 and died in Monchy-St-Eloi in 1922.



He discovered painting and received his first artistic lessons in Spain, where his family settled between 1846 and 1853. He continued his training in Bayonne, in 1853, then especially in Paris, from 1854, where he enrolled at the Ecole des Beaux-Arts in Léon Cogniet's studio, thanks to the financial assistance granted to him by the city of Bayonne.



Candidate for the Prix de Rome competition, where he only obtained, after two failures in 1854 and 1855, a second second grand prize in 1857, he left, thanks once again to the support of the City of Bayonne, for Rome, where he stayed from 1858 to 1861, enjoying a status close to the laureates of the Prix de Rome. There he frequented Degas, Henner, Gustave Moreau, Delaunay, Jules Lefèbvre, Carolus Duran, Chapu… and produced his first religious works and his first Italian genre scenes.



He exhibited at the Salon from 1857, and was noticed for the first time by the critics at the Salon of 1859. Success was rapid: The Good Samaritain received an honorable mention from the Salon jury in 1859 and was purchased by the State, Mariuccia, presented at the Salon of 1861, was bought by Princess Mathilde… He received his first public order in 1863: a decorative panel on the life of Saint Vincent de Paul for the Saint-Nicolas-des-Champs church in Paris, delivered in 1866. In 1869, Léon Bonnat traveled to the Middle East, where he accompanied Jean-Léon Gérôme. He painted, after his return and for a few years, orientalist genre scenes, while continuing to produce important religious works. In 1869 he received the Medal of Honor of the Salon for L'Assomption. Christ on the Cross, which responded to a state commission for the decoration of the Cour d'Assises of the Palais de Justice in Paris, was presented at the Salon of 1874 and caused a certain scandal. This major work established Léon Bonnat's reputation as a realist painter, or even more a naturalist.

851fc9f9f9-20091218autoportrait1908 003
7aa9ffb0bf-Portrait de Charles-Marie Wid
4025baf1fe-Mlle Rivet 001.jpg
a4717f0edf-Léon_Bonnat_Portrait_de_M._
2c7670abca-DSC03062_edited2.jpg
th.jpg

"I was brought up in the cult of Velasquez. I was very young, in Madrid; my father, on bright days such as one only sees in Spain, sometimes took me to the Prado Museum, where we did long stops in Spanish cinemas. I always left them with a feeling of deep admiration for Vélasquez ".

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

"What is striking about Rembrandt is the power, the strength and the brilliance. He represents life in all its intensity. We see his characters, we talk with them, he resuscitates and revives an entire era. a marvelous and unique gift of interpretation, he joins the sensitivity, the goodness of a heart which vibrates to all the miseries, to all the joys, to all the emotions of humanity. He does not belong to any school. He has opened the new path which closed behind him. "

Success, and fortune, were brought to him by portrait painting: he presented at the Salon the portraits of Mme Pasca in 1875, of Thiers in 1876, of Victor Hugo in 1879, the first large portraits of a long series, which he consecrate as one of the great portrait painters of his time, the greatest for some critics. He very quickly and almost definitively abandoned religious painting, a genre in which his last great work was Le Martyre de Saint Denis for the Pantheon, commissioned in 1874 and delivered in 1885, and genre painting, to devote himself exclusively to portraiture. . The great figures of the Republic, the aristocrats and the big bourgeois, French and American, the celebrities, men and women, artists, friends or relatives are portrayed by Léon Bonnat between 1880 and his death. The number of portraits made is estimated at around five hundred. Léon Bonnat is described as "official painter of the Third Republic".



Recognized by critics and the public, he is also recognized by his peers who regularly make him a member of the Jury of the Salon, the President in 1892, then Honorary President in 1894 of the Society of French Artists, and more generally their representative in administrative bodies. He is also recognized by the State, knight of the Legion of Honor in 1867, he was made Grand'Croix in 1900. Elected member of the Institute in 1881, he was appointed President of the Superior Council of Museums in 1905. He is also recognized abroad, and is named member of many foreign academies, among others Berlin, Madrid, Vienna.



Léon Bonnat is a recognized and appreciated teacher. He sees pass in his private workshop, opened in 1865, or from 1883 in his workshop at the Ecole des Beaux-Arts, where he teaches as workshop manager, then after 1888 as Professor, several hundred students, French and foreigners, including Toulouse-Lautrec, Matisse, Dufy, Eakins, Blashfield, Kroyer, Sorolla, Zuloaga ... He was appointed director of the Ecole des Beaux-Arts in Paris in 1905.



Finally Léon Bonnat is a recognized collector. It brings together an exceptional collection of works of art, drawings (Michelangelo, Raphael, Rembrandt, Ingres…), paintings, bronzes, in particular by Barye… which he will donate, in part in 1901, for the essential after his death, to the city of Bayonne, which builds, to present it, the Museum that bears his name. Some pieces will also be donated, during his lifetime or upon his death, to the Louvre Museum and the Ecole des Beaux-Arts.



Beyond his image as a great collector and teacher, Léon Bonnat deserves to be recognized as an innovative and brilliant portrait painter. Marked, in his apprenticeship, by Velasquez and Ribera, Michelangelo, Leonardo da Vinci and Raphaël, Rembrandt and Frans Hals, he knew how to merge these different influences in a personal, new style. Léon Bonnat was able, relying on an irreproachable technique and a very great rigor, with a great simplicity of means, to express with power the individuality of each of his models. It is by the play of light, by the energetic and innovative work of the material, by the simplicity of the compositions and the play of colors that he creates very personal and, at the same time, timeless works.



Finally, Léon Bonnat has left us, through this “gallery” of portraits, an exceptional picture of his contemporaries and a perfect illustration of the position acquired by the bourgeoisie, whether French or American, during the 19th century, making thus work of a painter of history.

L'artiste

Léon Joseph Florentin Bonnat est né à Bayonne en 1833 et mort à Monchy-St-Eloi en 1922.



Il découvre la peinture et reçoit ses premiers enseignements artistiques en Espagne, où sa famille s’est installée entre 1846 et 1853. Il poursuit sa formation à Bayonne, en 1853, puis surtout à Paris, à partir de 1854, où il s’inscrit à l’Ecole des Beaux-Arts dans l’atelier de Léon Cogniet, grâce à l’aide financière que lui accorde la ville de Bayonne.



Candidat au concours du Prix de Rome, où il n’obtient, après deux échecs en 1854 et 1855, qu’un deuxième second grand prix en 1857, il part, grâce une nouvelle fois au soutien de la Ville de Bayonne, pour Rome, où il séjourne de 1858 à 1861, bénéficiant d’un statut proche des lauréats du Prix de Rome. Il y fréquente Degas, Henner, Gustave Moreau, Delaunay, Jules Lefèbvre, Carolus Duran, Chapu… et réalise ses premières œuvres religieuses et ses premières scènes de genre italiennes.



Il expose au Salon à partir de 1857, et est remarqué pour la première fois par la critique au Salon de 1859. Le succès est rapide : Le bon Samaritain reçoit une mention honorable du jury du Salon en 1859 et est acheté par l’Etat, Mariuccia, présenté au Salon de 1861, est acheté par la Princesse Mathilde… Il reçoit sa première commande publique en 1863 : un panneau décoratif sur la vie de Saint Vincent de Paul pour l’église Saint-Nicolas-des-Champs à Paris, livré en 1866. En 1869, Léon Bonnat voyage au Moyen-Orient, où il accompagne Jean-Léon Gérôme. Il peint, après son retour et pendant quelques années, des scènes de genre orientalistes, tout en poursuivant la réalisation d’œuvres religieuses importantes. Il reçoit en 1869 la Médaille d’honneur du Salon pour L’Assomption. Le Christ en croix, qui répond à une commande de l’Etat pour la décoration de la Cour d’Assises du Palais de Justice de Paris, est présenté au Salon de 1874 et provoque un certain scandale. Cette œuvre majeure établit la réputation de Léon Bonnat de peintre réaliste, ou plus encore naturaliste.

851fc9f9f9-20091218autoportrait1908 003
7aa9ffb0bf-Portrait de Charles-Marie Wid
4025baf1fe-Mlle Rivet 001.jpg
a4717f0edf-Léon_Bonnat_Portrait_de_M._
2c7670abca-DSC03062_edited2.jpg
th.jpg

"J’ai été élevé dans le culte de Vélasquez. J’étais tout jeune, à Madrid ; mon père, par les journées radieuses comme on n’en voit qu’en Espagne, me menait parfois au Musée du Prado, où nous faisions de longues stations dans les salles espagnoles. J’en sortais toujours avec un sentiment de profonde admiration pour Vélasquez".

"Ce qui frappe chez Rembrandt, c’est la puissance, la force et l’éclat. Il représente la vie dans toute son intensité. On voit ses personnages, on cause avec eux, il ressuscite et ranime toute une époque. Et à ce don d’interprétation merveilleux, unique, il joint la sensibilité, la bonté d’un cœur qui vibre à toutes les misères, à toutes les joies, à toutes les émotions de l’humanité. Il n’appartient à aucune école. Il a ouvert la voie nouvelle qui s’est refermée derrière lui."

Le succès, et la fortune, lui sont apportés par la peinture de portrait : il présente au Salon les portraits de Mme Pasca en 1875, de Thiers en 1876, de Victor Hugo en 1879, premiers grands portraits d’une longue série, qui le consacrent comme l’un des très grands portraitistes de son temps, le plus grand pour certains critiques. Il abandonne très vite et de façon presque définitive la peinture religieuse, genre dans lequel sa dernière grande œuvre est Le Martyre de Saint Denis pour le Panthéon, commandé en 1874 et livré en 1885, et la peinture de genre, pour se consacrer exclusivement au portrait. Les grandes figures de la République, les aristocrates et les grands bourgeois, français et américains, les célébrités, hommes et femmes, artistes, amis ou proches sont portraiturés par Léon Bonnat entre 1880 et sa mort. On évalue le nombre de portraits réalisés à environ cinq cents. Léon Bonnat est qualifié de « peintre officiel de la IIIe République ».



Reconnu par la critique et le public, il l’est aussi par ses pairs qui font régulièrement de lui un membre du Jury du Salon, le Président en 1892, puis Président d’Honneur en 1894 de la Société des Artistes Français, et plus généralement leur représentant dans les instances administratives. Il est aussi reconnu par l’Etat, chevalier de la Légion d’Honneur en 1867, il est fait Grand’Croix en 1900. Elu membre de l’Institut en 1881, il est nommé Président du Conseil Supérieur des Musées en 1905. Il est également reconnu à l’étranger, et est nommé membre de nombreuses académies étrangères, entre autres Berlin, Madrid, Vienne.



Léon Bonnat est un professeur reconnu et apprécié. Il voit passer dans son atelier privé, ouvert en 1865, ou à partir de 1883 dans son atelier à l’Ecole des Beaux-Arts, où il enseigne comme chef d’atelier, puis après 1888 comme Professeur, plusieurs centaines d’élèves, français et étrangers, parmi lesquels Toulouse-Lautrec, Matisse, Dufy, Eakins, Blashfield, Kroyer, Sorolla, Zuloaga... Il est nommé directeur de l’Ecole des Beaux-Arts de Paris en 1905.



Enfin Léon Bonnat est un collectionneur reconnu. Il réunit une exceptionnelle collection d’œuvres d’art, des dessins (Michel-Ange, Raphaël, Rembrandt, Ingres…), des peintures, des bronzes, en particulier de Barye… dont il fera don, pour partie en 1901, pour l’essentiel après son décès, à la ville de Bayonne, qui édifie, pour la présenter, le Musée qui porte son nom. Certaines pièces seront également données, de son vivant ou à sa mort, au Musée du Louvre et à l’Ecole des Beaux-Arts.



Au-delà de son image de grand collectionneur et de professeur, Léon Bonnat mérite d’être reconnu comme un portraitiste novateur et brillant. Marqué, dans son apprentissage, par Velasquez et Ribera, Michel-Ange, Léonard de Vinci et Raphaël, Rembrandt et Frans Hals, il a su fusionner ces différentes influences dans un style personnel, nouveau. Léon Bonnat a su, s’appuyant sur une technique irréprochable et d’une très grande rigueur, avec une grande simplicité de moyens, exprimer avec puissance l’individualité de chacun de ses modèles. C’est par le jeu de la lumière, par le travail énergique et novateur de la matière, par la simplicité des compositions et du jeu des couleurs qu’il créé des œuvres très personnelles et, en même temps, intemporelles.



Enfin, Léon Bonnat nous a laissé, à travers cette «galerie » de portraits, un tableau exceptionnel de ses contemporains et une illustration parfaite de la position acquise par la bourgeoisie, qu’elle soit française ou américaine, au cours du XIXe siècle, faisant ainsi œuvre de peintre d’histoire.